Disappear Here


John Robb…
November 17, 2010, 1:35 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

9th November 2010: 

John Robb came into our lecture today to give a talk about music journalism, although music is not my career choice, it is something that I am interested in, I thought that John would be able to offer some helpful advice on writing, which he did!

At first I thought he was trying to put us off a dream career of being a journalist but the I realised he was just trying to portray the nature of the industry, you have to work hard and you have to be the best. 

He spoke about the importance of networking and with this I opened a twitter account, although I have no idea what i’m doing with it yet!  and I do remember Ezrah saying that Twitter and networking was key to this industry.  Another piece of advice was toalways film any interviews because you never know whats going to happen to the acts/people that you are filming, this is definatley something that I should think about if I am serious about getting into the film critique industry.  I need to start getting my writing and my name out there, papers internet, anything and John Robb has inspired me to do this with his tales of his exciting past in journalsim.  I went on to read his blog and I found this piece he had written particularly interesting:  

http://johnrobb77.wordpress.com/2010/10/23/notes-on-mainstream-tv-hell/

Rage against the X-Factor? I think so.  I find his writing style gripping and it is something that with a bit of practice I would like to intergrate into my writing.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

